Louisiana

Louisiana Licensing

Louisiana Department of Insurance
1702 N. 3rd St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (225) 342-5900

Applications:
License Application

Cost:
$55 Application Fee
$72.25 Electric Fingerprinting Fee
$50 Renewal Fee
$55 Licensing Fee- Exam Registration


All adjusters must be at least 18 years of age in order to take the Louisiana State Adjusters Licensing Exam.

You must complete the Louisiana State Adjusters License Exam, if you are:

·         A Louisiana Resident

·         Resident of a state that does not license adjusters

·         If you currently have an adjusters license from another state and are moving to Louisiana, you do not have to take the exam

 

Kentucky

Kentucky Licensing

Kentucky Department of Insurance
215 W. Main St.
Frankfurt, KY 40601

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (502) 564-6004
Fax: (502) 564-6030
Testing: (502)564-3384
Email: DOI.AgentLicensingMail@ky.gov

Applications:
License Application (Resident)
License Application (Non-resident)
Criminal Background Report

Cost:
$50 Registration/Licensing Fee
$15 Background Check
$50 Renewal Fee
$50 Exam- Exam Registration


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Kentucky you must meet the following requirements:

·         Be at least 18 years old

·         Live in Kentucky, or have an adjuster license in another state that requires an examination

·         Be trustworthy and of good reputation

·         Be financially responsible

·         Pass a written examination in either Kentucky or a reciprocal state

·         Have an office accessible to the public

·         Pay the necessary fees

 

Indiana

Indiana Licensing

Indiana Department of Financial Services
311 W Washington St, Ste. 300
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (317) 232-0688
Email: mcanfield@idio.in.gov

Applications:
License Application
Renewal Application

Cost:
$40 Resident/$90 Non-Resident Application Fee
$40 Resident/$90 Non-Resident Renewal Fee
$40 Resident/$90 Non-Resident Licensing Fee
$20 Emergency Adjuster Licensing
$90 Exam


Links:
Indiana Pre-Licensing Course
Designating Indiana as Home State
 


All adjusters must be at least 18 years of age in order to take the Indiana State Adjusters Licensing Exam.

You must complete the Indiana State Adjusters License Exam, if you are:
 

·         Resident of Indiana

·         Resident of a state that does not license adjusters

You must complete 40 hours of pre-licensing education before applying for your adjuster license. 

Idaho

Idaho Licensing

Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W State St., 3rd Floor
PO Box 83270
Boise, ID 83720-0043

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (208) 334-4250
Fax: (208) 334-4398

Applications:
License Application
Fingerprinting
Non Resident Application


Fee:
$80 Resident/Non-Resident Application Fee
$60 Fingerprinting Fee
$60 Online/$80 Mail In Renewal Fee
$160 Fee to Reinstate Up to One Year Past Expiration
$60 Exam- Exam Registration 

To become a claims adjuster in the state of Idaho you must meet the following requirements:

·         21 years old

·         Not convicted of a felony or a crime that involves moral depravity

·         Have had sufficient training

·         Pass Idaho adjuster examination (when applicable)

 

Hawaii

Hawaii Licensing

Hawaii Department of Insurance
PO Box 3614
Honolulu, HI 96811

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 7:45 AM - 4:30 PM Hawaii Standard Time (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (808) 586-2790
Fax: (808) 586-2788
Email: inslic@dcca.hawaii.gov

Applications:
License Application
Fingerprinting

Fee:
$75 Application Fee - Fee Schedule Exam Registration
$40 Background Check
$180 Renewal Fee


Requirements to become a licensed adjuster in the state of Hawaii:

·         18 years old

·         If you are a convicted felon, you must request written consent from the commissioner to partake in the business of insurance

·         Live in Hawaii

·         Have successfully passed the Hawaii Adjuster's Exam

·         Have paid the license fee

 

Georgia

Georgia Licensing

Georgia Department of Insurance
Two Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. West Tower, Ste 704
Atlanta, GA 30334

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (404)656-2101
Fax: (404) 657-8542
Email: agents@oci.ga.gov

Applications:
Licensing Application
Renewal Application

Fee:
$115 Initial Licensing and Application Fee-Exam Registration
$65 Application Fee
$15 Late Renewal Fee

Links:
Candidate Handbook

Resident adjusters must complete a 40 hour Property and Casualty pre-licensing course and pass the state exam.

Non-residents that are currently licensed can obtain a George state license if they are currently licensed in their home state.


All adjusters must be at least 18 years of age in order to take the Georgia State Adjuster Licensing Exam.

You must complete the Georgia State Adjusters License Exam, if you are:
 

·         Resident of Georgia

·         Resident of another state and that does not license adjusters

·         If you currently have an adjusters license from another state and are moving to Florida, you do not have to take the exam

Florida

Florida Licensing

Florida Department of Insurance
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0318

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (850) 413-3137
Fax: (850) 413-3291

Applications:
Online License Application

Fee:
$50 Application Fee
$22 Fingerprint Fee
$5 License ID Fee
$42 State Exam (if required)- Online Exam Registration
Applicants are able to take the 40 hour Certified Adjuster Designation course online or in-person in lieu of the state exam.

Non-Residents: Must pass the exam or Certified Adjuster Designation course, unless licensed in a reciprocal state.


All adjusters must be at least 18 years of age in order to take the Florida State Adjusters Licensing Exam.

You must complete the Florida State Adjusters License Exam, if you are:

·         Resident of Florida

·         Resident of a state that does not license adjusters

·         If you currently have an adjusters license from another state and are moving to Florida, you do not have to take the exam

Reciprocal states:  Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Washington, Wyoming. 

Delaware

Delaware Licensing

Delaware Department of Insurance
841 Silver Lake Blvd
Dover, DE 19904

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (302) 674-7390
Fax: (302) 736-7906
Email: licensing@state.de.us

Applications:
New License Application
Application if already licensed in other state

Fee:
$75 Application Fee
$50 Renewal Fee for Residents, $75 Non-Residents
$45 Exam- Exam Registration

Non Residents:
If you are licensed in another state, you do not have to pass the Delaware state exam to receive your license.


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Delaware one must meet the following requirements:

·         Be at least 18 years of age

·         Pass the licensing exam

Workers Compensation Adjuster's License information:

·         Delaware resident adjusters must pass additional exam for and receive the Workers' Compensation Line of Authority.

·         Non-resident Delaware adjusters that are qualified for Workers' Compensation in another state can apply for the Line of Authority without testing.

Connecticut

Connecticut Licensing

To become a claims adjuster in Connecticut you must be at least 18 years old, pass the Connecticut license exam and be financially responsible.
 

Connecticut Department of Insurance
PO Box 816
Hartford, CT 06142

Main: (860) 297-3849
Fax: (860) 566-3978
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov

Fee:
$130 Application/Licensing Fee
$80 Renewal Fee

$26 Certification Letter

 

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

(Closed on State Holidays)

Non-Connecticut Residents:
If you have a license in another state, you do not need to pass the Connecticut state exam, unless you live in New York State.  New York resident still have to take the exam.

Useful Links:
Applicants Apply Here
Exam Registration
Exam Outline

Certification letter (Attached)- Residents of Connecticut must complete

California

California Licensing

To become a claims adjuster in California you must be at least 18 years of age in order to take the California State Adjusters Licensing Exam, have a $2,000 Insurance Adjuster Bond (attached), establish a CA business address, have 2 years certified in the adjusting field (2,000 hours = 1 year of experience)

You must complete the California State Adjusters License Exam if you are:

·         Resident of California

·         Resident of another state that does not license adjusters

·         Moving to California. California's licensing procedure does not account for licenses in another state.

California Department of Insurance
320 Capitol Mall

Sacramento, CA 95814
Main: (800) 967-9331
Fax: (916) 322-3555

Fee:
$227 License Fee
$57 Application Fee
$58 FBI Fingerprinting Process

$54 Exam Fee- Online Exam
$213 Renewal Fee (Valid for 2 years and expires on 5/31 of each even year)

Office Hours:

Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

(Closed on State Holidays)

 

Useful Links:
Online Adjusters License Application
Online Adjusters Renewal Application
 

Arizona

Arizona Licensing

To become a claims adjuster in Arizona you must be at least 18 years of age to take the Arizona State Adjusters Licensing Exam and you only need to complete the Arizona State Adjusters License Exam if you are:

·         An Arizona Resident

·         A Resident of another state and that state does not give Adjuster Licenses

If you are moving to Arizona and have an adjuster license from your home state, you must submit your Licensing Application within 90 days from canceling your License with your former Home State, and provide a clearance letter from your Home State.

Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 N 44th Street, Suite 210 (2nd Floor)
Phoenix, AZ 85018-7269
Main: (602) 364-4457
Fax: (602) 364-4460
Other: (877) 660-0964
Email: Licensing@azinsurance.gov

Fee:
$120 Application Fee
$22 FBI Fingerprinting
$120 Renewal Fee (Depends on the renewal term)

$62 Exam Fee

$3 Certification letter of clearance

 

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM 

(Closed on State Holidays)

 

Non-Arizona Residents:
complete this form (attached) if you are currently licensed in another state


Useful Links
Exam Registration
Exam Preparation Resources (Attached)

Individual Adjusters License Application (Attached)
Individual Adjusters Renewal Application (Attached)
Online Adjusters License Application
Online Adjusters Renewal Application

Arkansas

Arkansas Licensing

To become a claims adjuster in Arkansas you must be at least 18 years of age to take the Arkansas State Adjusters Licensing Exam. Arkansas recognizes designated home states for non-resident licensing. 

 

 

Arkansas Department of Insurance
1200 W Third St
Little Rock, AR 72201
Main: (501) 371-2750
Fax: (501) 683-2604
Email: insurance.license@arkansas.gov

 

Fees:
$120 Application Fee
$22 Checking Fee
$60 Renewal Fee
$136 Exam Fee
 

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

(Closed on State Holidays)

 

Non-Arkansas Residents:
Complete this form (attached) if you are licensed in your home state. Send with the application fee.

 

Useful Links:

License Registration
License Renewal

Download Exam Registration (Attached)
Online Exam Registration

 

Alabama

Alabama Licensing

To become a claims adjuster in Alabama you must have the following requirements:

·         At least 19 years of age

·         Completed the Alabama Pre-Licensing Course and Exam

Alabama Department of Insurance
PO Box 303351
Montgomery, AL 36130

Main: (334) 269-3550  
Fax: (334) 241-4192
insdept@alabama.gov
 

Fee:
$20 Application Fee
$80 Licensing Fee

3.5% credit card processing fee
$80 Renewal Fee

Additional Info:

Due to a catastrophe, unlicensed adjusters are allowed to process claims on behalf of an insurer due to a catastrophe but you are required to register online.

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

(Closed on State Holidays)


Useful Links:
Alabama Residents Apply Here
Non-Alabama residents with a license Apply Here
Non-Alabama residents without a license Apply Here
Online course and exam
4 Day in room course and exam
Report a Change of Address- (Document attached)
Online Services

 

Alaska

Alaska Licensing

To become a claims adjuster in Alaska you must have six months of recent experience as any of the following:

·         Independent Adjuster

·         Independent Adjuster Trainee

·         Insurance Producer

·         Managing General Agent

·         Reinsurance intermediary manager or broker

·         Underwriter or claims adjuster employee of an insurer

 

Alaska Department of Insurance
PO Box 110805
Juneau, AK 99811
Main: (907) 465-2515
Fax: (907) 465-3422
insurance@commerce.state.ak.us

 

Fees:
$75 Registration/Licensing Fee
$54.25 Fingerprint Card Fee

$15 Service Fee
$75 Renewal Fee
$45 Exam Fee

 

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

(Closed on State Holidays)


Non-Alaska Residents:
You do not need to take the Alaska Exam if you are licensed in your home state. 

 

Useful Links:
License Application (Document attached)
Online License Application
Print License

Exam Registration