South Carolina

South Carolina Licensing

South Carolina Department of Insurance
1201 Main Street, Suite 1000
Columbia, SC 29201

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Phone: (803) 737-6095
Fax: (803) 737-6100
Email: agntmail@doi.sc.gov

Applications:
Resident Application for Adjuster
Non-Resident Application for Adjuster
SLED Criminal History Report
License Renewal

Cost:
$80 Resident Licensing and Application Fee
$80 Non-resident Licensing and Application Fee or the applicant's home state, whichever is greater
$80 License Renewal Fee
$25 SLED Report Fee (Resident only)

Exam Fee: $45
Exam Registration

To become a claims adjuster in the state of South Carolina you must meet the following requirements:

·         at least 18 years old

·         Residents of South Carolina

·         Non-resident applicants who are licensed in a state that requires an exam do not have to take the South Carolina exam.

·         Emergency Adjusters: In the event of a catastrophe in which the normal supply of licensed South Carolina adjusters is not enough to handle the amount of claims filed, licensed insurers may appoint emergency adjusters with a 120 day temporary license. Application for Appointment as an Emergency Adjuster Application.

* Please visit or contact the South Carolina Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Licensing

Rhode Island Department of Insurance
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-2
Cranston, RI 02920

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (401) 462-9520
Fax: (401) 462-9602
Email: ldesilets@dbr.state.ri.us

Applications:
License Application

Cost:
$120 Registration/Licensing Fee
$50 Application Fee
$120 Biennial Renewal Fee
$170 Reinstatement Fee
$15 Letter of Certification

Exam Fee: $90
Exam Registration


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Rhode Island you must meet the following requirements:

·         18 years old

·         Criminal Background Check

·         New York residents must submit fingerprint cards

·         Massachusetts residents must complete a CORI request form

* Please visit or contact the Rhode Island Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

Oregon

Oregon Licensing

Oregon Department of Insurance
350 Winter St NE
Salem, OR 97301-3883

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (503) 947-7980
Fax: (503) 378-4351
Email: dcbs.insmail@state.or.us

Applications:
License Application
Criminal Records Request Form
 

Cost:
$75 Registration/Licensing Fee
$47.25 Background Check
$45 Renewal Fee
$45 Late Renewal Fee

Exam Fee: $45
Exam Registration 


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Oregon you must meet the following requirements:

·         18 years old

·         Be an Oregon resident

·         Pass the Oregon adjuster examination

·         Disclose any felony or misdemeanor convictions

·         Complete criminal records request form

For non-residents, if no exam is necessary, submit an original letter of certification, dated within the last 90 days, from your home state and pay a $75 fee.
* Please visit or contact the Oregon Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Licensing

Oklahoma Department of Insurance
Five Corporate Plaza, 3624 NW 56th, Ste. 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73112-4511

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Contact Information:
Main: (405) 521-3916
Fax: (405) 522-3642
Email: licensing@oid.ok.gov

Applications:
License Application
Renewal Application

Cost:
$30 Application Fee for one class
$50 for two or more classes
$30 Renewal Fee/$50 for two or more classes

Exam Fee: $20
Exam Registration


All adjusters must be at least 18 years of age in order to take the Oklahoma State Adjusters Licensing Exam.
 

·         Resident of Oklahoma

·         Resident of a state that does not license adjusters

·         Non-Resident moving to Oklahoma, if you hold a current Adjuster License you are exempt from the exam

·         If you hold a license from NV, AZ, CA, HI, NY you will need to take the Oklahoma exam

Effective April 11, 2014:
For nonresident adjusters designating Texas as your Designated Home State, you must have the correct specific license type when you are sumbitting applications to the Oklahoma Insurance Department. In the past, the OID (Oklahoma Insurance Department) has been flexible when applicants have had pending applications with the Texas Department of Insurance, but will no longer accept pending nonresident adjuster applications. You must contact Texas Department of Insurance if you need to change the license type. 

* Please visit or contact the Oklahoma Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

New York

New York Licensing

New York Department of Insurance
One Commercial Plaza
Albany, NY 12257

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Contact Information:
Main: (518) 474-6630
Fax: (518) 474-5048
Email: licensing@ins.state.ny.us

Exam Application

Cost:
$100 Licensing Fee for the first year
$50 Licensing Fee for the second year
$85.75 Fingerprinting Fee

Exam Fee: $49
Exam Registration


To become a claims adjuster in the state of New York you must:

·         Be at least 18 years old

·         Never have committed a felony or any crime involving fraudulent or dishonest practices

·         Have a $1,000 bond to cover the licensing period

·         Take and pass the New York adjuster exam within 2 years prior to application

You must complete the New York Adjusters License Exam, if you are:

·         Resident of New York

·         Resident of a state that does not license adjusters

·         If you received you adjuster license from another state within 2 years of moving to New York, you are not required to take the exam

* Please visit or contact the New York Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

Nevada

Nevada Licensing

 

Nevada Department of Insurance
Carson City Office
1818 E. College Pkwy Ste 103
Carson City, NV 89706

Las Vegas Office
2501 East Sahara Avenue, Suite 302
Las Vegas, NV 89104

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Carson City Office
Main: (775) 687-0700
Fax: (775) 687-0787

Las Vegas Office
Main: (702) 486-4009
Fax: (702) 486-4007
Email: insinfo@doi.state.nv.us

Applications:
License Application

Cost:
$195 Application/Licensing Fee
$37.50 Fingerprinting Fee


Exam Fee: $55
Exam Registration


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Nevada you must meet the following requirements:

·         21 years old

·         Submit a fingerprint card

·         Be a Nevada resident for 90 days befor submitting your application

·         Have 2 years experience (within the last 5 years) handling and adjusting claims

·         Pass the Nevada adjuster exam

·         If you would like to be an Associate Adjuster, you must be 18 years or older but there is no exam

* Please visit or contact the Nevada Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

New Mexico

New Mexico Licensing

New Mexico Department of Insurance
1120 Paseo De Peralta
PO Box 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (505) 827-1246
Email: agents.licensing@state.nm.us

Applications:
License Application
Adjuster Affiliation Form
Bond Form
*All application and bond forms must be notarized

Cost:
$30 Registration/Licensing Fee
$30 Renewal Fee
$20 Affiliation Fee

Exam Fee: 
No exam required


To become a claims adjuster in the state of New Mexico you must meet the following requirements:

·         18 years old

·         Be a resident of this state, or of a state that permits residents of this state to act as adjusters there

·         Be able to demonstrate a good business reputation, and must intend to engage in a genuine manner in the business of adjusting insurance claims

·         Have at least one year's experience or special education or training in handling claims under insurance contracts

·         Be bonded in the amount of at least $10,000

·         Pay the $30 licensing fee

* Please visit or contact the New Mexico Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Licensing

New Hampshire Department of Insurance
21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14
Concord, NH 03301

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (603) 271-0203
Fax: (603) 271-1406
Email: requests@ins.nh.gov

Applications:
Resident Application
Non-Resident Application

Cost:
$75 Licensing/Application Fee
$75 Biennial Renewal Fee

Exam Fee:
Exam Registration
$100 Adjuster's P&C Insurance
$79 Adjuster's WC Insurance






To become a claims adjuster in the state of New Hampshire you must meet the following requirements:

·         18 years old

·         If you are a resident, you will have to pass the New Hampshire adjuster examination

·         If you are a non-resident and you either already hold an adjuster license in your home state or have 6 months of adjusting experience, then you do not need to take the New Hampshire exam

* Please visit or contact the New Hampshire Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

North Carolina

North Carolina Licensing

North Carolina Department of Insurance
1204 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh, NC 27699-1204

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (919) 807-6750
Fax: (919) 715-3794
Email: ASD@ncdoi.gov  

Applications:
Licensing Application

Cost:
$50 Application Processing Fee
$5 NIPR Application Fee
$75 License Fee
$50 Registration Fee
$75 Renewal Fee
$40 Renewal Processing Fee

Exam Fee: $51.50
Exam Registration Information
Additional Fees May Apply for the Adjuster Designation

Fingerprinting information will be sent to you AFTERyou submit your license application.
 


To become a claims adjuster in the state of North Carolina you must meet the following requirements:

·         18 years old

·         Complete the North Carolina adjuster exam (both residents and non-residents need to take this)

·         If you hold an adjuster license in your home state, you may apply for a Non-Resident license without taking the North Carolina Exam

* Please visit or contact the North Carolina Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

Montana

Montana Licensing

Montana Department of Insurance
840 Helena Ave
Helena, MT 59601

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (406) 444-2040
Fax: (406) 444-3497
Email: stateauditor@mt.gov

Applications:
License Application

Cost:
$50 Application Fee
$100 Renewal Fee
$200 Reinstatement Fee

Exam Fee: $68
Exam Registration

$50.50 Digital Fingerprinting



 


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Montana you must meet the following requirements:

·         18 years old

·         Resident of Montana or a state that allows Montana residents to act as adjusters in that state

·         Trustworthy and of good character

·         Pass the Montana exam

·         Non-residents must submit a letter of verification from their home state, or a state in which they are an adjuster, along with the application

Fingerprinting: Candidates must first scheduled their exam before contacting IdentoGO by MorphoTrust USA to get their fingerprints done. 
Phone: (866)761-8069
Website: https://pearsonwest.ibtfingerprint.com/ * Please visit or contact the Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

Mississippi

Mississippi Licensing

Mississippi Department of Insurance
PO Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205-0079

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (601) 359-3582
Fax: (601) 359-1951
Email: licensing@mid.state.ms.us

Applications:
License Application
 

Cost:
$50 Registration/Licensing Fee
$50 Renewal Fee
$50 Emergency Adjuster Fee

Exam Fee: $85
Exam Registration


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Mississippi you meet the following requirements:

·         18 years old

·         Complete 12 hours of pre-licensing education in an approved adjuster course

·         Pass the Mississippi adjuster exam

·         Emergency Adjusters: You may apply for a 180-day emergency adjuster license by filling out the correct application

* Please visit or contact the Mississippi Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

Minnesota

Minnesota Licensing

Minnesota Department of Commerce/Insurance
85 7th Place E, Ste. 500
St. Paul, MN 55101

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (651) 296-4026
Fax: (651) 297-1959
Email: education.commerce@state.mn.us

Applications:
License Application


Cost:
$90 Licensing/Application Fee
$25 Catastrophe License Fee
$55 Crop and Hail License Fee
$50 FBI Fingerprinting Fee

Exam Fee: $45
Exam Registration


All adjusters must be at least 18 years of age in order to take the Minnesota State Adjsuters Licensing Exam.

You must complete the Minnesota State Adjusters License Exam, if you are:
 

·         Resident of Minnesota

·         Resident of a state that does not license adjusters

·         If you currently have an adjusters license from another state and are moving to Minnesota, you do not have to take the exam

* Please visit or contact the Minnesota Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

Michigan

Michigan Licensing

Michigan Department of Insurance
PO Box 30220
Lansing, MI 48909

Hours of Operations:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (517) 373-0220
Fax: (517) 335-4978
Email: ofir-licensinge@michigan.gov

Applications:
License Application

Cost:
$15 Registration/Licensing Fee
$5 Residents NIPR Transaction Fee
$6.18 Non-resident NIPR Transaction Fee
$5 Renewal Fee

Exam Fee: $40
Exam With Workers' Compensation
Exam Without Workers' Compensation


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Michigan you must meet the following requirements:

·         18 years old

·         Pass the Michigan adjuster examination

* Please visit or contact the Michigan Department of Insurance for current and updated information
* Additional Information can be found on AdjusterPro.com

 

Maine

Maine Licensing

Maine Department of Insurance
34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Closed on State Holidays)

Contact Information:
Main: (207) 624-8475
Fax: (207) 624-8599
Email: Insurance.PFR@maine.gov

Applications:
License Application

Fee:
$30 Licensing Fee (Resident)
$15 Application Fee (Resident)
$15 Licensing Fee (Non-Resident)
$60 Application Fee (Non-Resident)
$30 Renewal Fee (Residents)
$60 Renewal Fee (Non-residents)
Submit one check for each application submitted.
$77 Exam- Exam Registration


To become a claims adjuster in the state of Maine you must meet the following requirements: 
 

·         18 years old

·         Exemptions from the license requirement include:

o    Attorneys admitted to practice in Maine;

o    Employees of insurers;

o    Licensed producers authorized by contract to settle and pay claims within a specified limit established by the insurer or fraternal benefit society not to exceed $5,000;

o    Persons adjusting only life and health insurance claims

o    Adjuster trainees (a person who has "less than one year total experience handling loss claims....who is not licensed in this state as an adjuster and who is employed by and subject to the immediate supervision of an adjuster who is licensed in the State and who has been established in the business of adjusting for 3 years or more.")